Skip to main content

Our Board of Directors

Comprising professionals in research, medicine and psychiatry, AADPA’s Board of Directors are bound by their shared commitment to providing evidence-based diagnosis, treatment and management of ADHD and are responsible for setting policy and overseeing the organization’s general well being.

Prof David Coghill - AADPA President

Prof. David Coghill

President (January 2023 - Present)
Director and Vice President (29 July 2017 - January 2023)

Professor Coghill is committed to the development and implementation of evidence-based pathways for ADHD and has been involved in the development of several National and International Clinical guidelines for ADHD. David’s research interests include neuroscience, neuropsychology, Neuropsychopharmacology, health services research, implementation science, clinical trials, pharmacovigilance and quality of life. He is the chair of EUNETHYDIS International conferences and is a longstanding member of the executive committee of the European Network for Hyperkinetic Disorders (EUNETHYDIS).


Prof. Coghill has received research support from Shire and Vifor Pharma. He has also received research grants related to ADHD from the EU, the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) UK, National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) Australia, the Murdoch Children’s Research Institute (Australia), Department of Health (UK). He has received honoraria for advisory boards/speaking from Shire, Eli Lilly, Janssen-Cilag, Medice, Novartis. He receives royalties from Oxford University Press. Prof. Coghill is a founding member and inaugural Vice-President of the Australian ADHD Professionals Association Ltd.

Dr Roger Paterson - AADPA Board Director

Dr Roger Paterson

Vice President (January 2023 - Present)
Director (29 July 2017 - Present)

Dr Roger Paterson, MB BS, FRCPsych, FRANZCP, Cert. Child & Adol. Psych, has been active in the field of child, adolescent and adult ADHD for many years. In the public sector from 1989 to 1996 in child psychiatry, and in full-time general child and adult private practice thereafter, with the last few years being mostly an ADHD practice across the lifespan.


Recipient of Speaker’s fee received from Janssen, Eli Lilly, Novartis, Shire and Servier. Advisory Board paid member: Eli Lilly and Shire. Conference sponsorship: Astra-Zeneca, Janssen-Cilag, Lilly, Novartis, Pfizer, Shire and Solvay.

Prof Mark Bellgrove - AADPA Board Director

Prof. Mark Bellgrove

Director (29 July 2017 - Present)
President (29 July 2017 - January 2023)

Professor Bellgrove has studied the neurobiology of ADHD for over 15 years and is internationally known for his work on the genetics, neuropsychology and pharmacology of ADHD. His research has been recognized with awards from NARSAD, the Academy of Social Sciences in Australia and Biological Psychiatry Australia. Mark is a strong advocate for evidence-based diagnosis, treatment and management of ADHD and has a strong vision for the development of unified national diagnosis, prescribing and treatment practices and AADPA’s role in influencing policy to ensure a “better deal” for the many individuals affected by ADHD within Australia.


Prof. Bellgrove has in the past received a research grant from Eli Lily. He has received grants related to ADHD from the Science Foundation Ireland, the Irish Health Research Board, the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) Australia, the Murdoch Children’s Research Institute (Australia), National Alliance on Schizophrenia and Allied Disciplines (NARSAD) – US, and the Australian Research Council. He has received an educational grant from Shire. He has given educational talks at meetings sponsored by Janssen-Cilag, Eli Lilly and Shire. Prof. Bellgrove is a founding member and inaugural President of the Australian ADHD Professionals Association.

Dr Alison (Sally) Pouton - AADPA Board

Dr Alison Poulton

Director (July 2022 - Present)

Dr Poulton is a paediatrician with more than 20 years of experience specialising in treating children with attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD). Sally works at Nepean Hospital, at Penrith Child and Youth Mental Health Service and in private practice in Penrith. She is also an academic and senior lecturer at the University of Sydney. Dr Poulton has been studying the effects of stimulant medication in children with ADHD since 1996 and the long-term effects of ADHD and stimulant medication at a population level.

Dr Sarahn Lovett - AADPA Board

Dr Sarahn Lovett

Director (October 2023 - Present)

Dr Sarahn Lovett is a General Paediatrician for both public and private systems delivering care to children and their families with neurodevelopmental challenges such as autism and ADHD.  Dr Lovett is the Clinical Lead for ADHD Shared Care at Hunter New England and has led the development of a dedicated ADHD clinic that will soon open in HNEHealth in late 2023.  Dr Lovett is currently working with NSW Health to develop an online ADHD education module to help all clinicians participate in ADHD shared models care.  Sarahn is a passionate advocate for equitable and evidenced-based support for neurodiverse children at home, school, and in the community and understands the importance of developing pathways to provide these supports efficiently and effectively across an individual’s lifespan is her goal.

Katarzyna Tognarini - AADPA Board

Katarzyna Tognarini

Appointed Director (June 2023 - Present)

Katarzyna (Kate) Tognarini, B.Sc (Hons), B.Pharm is a practising community pharmacist in Melbourne, with over 25 years of experience working in community, education, industry and hospital. She is an MPS-endorsed vaccinator (Vic) and has certification in General Practice Pharmacy and Mental Health First Aid (Adult and Youth). Kate is a relative newcomer to ADHD given her family history and experience. She has a goal of improving ADHD education and training among Pharmacists and would like to enhance interprofessional collaboration in this area, with a view to achieving better overall outcomes. Kate has worked with current AADPA Board members and experienced specialists to coordinate the writing of the upcoming ADHD Prescriber Manual.

Louise Brown - AADPA Board Member

Louise Brown

Appointed Director (May 2021 - Present)

Lou Brown is a PhD Candidate at Curtin University, an ADHD consumer advisor for Deakin University, an accredited but non-practising registered nurse and ADHD coach, and a lived-experience advocate. Lou is passionate about ensuring individuals with ADHD receive evidence-based care that facilitates the development of self-awareness, self-acceptance and self-compassion, along with the knowledge and skills required to live a full and rewarding life and thrive with ADHD.

Dr Corin Miller

Dr Corin Miller

Appointed Director (June 2024 - Present)

Dr Corin Miller is a Rural Generalist with advanced skills in Paediatrics and Child Health. She was Rural Health Pro 2023 National Rural/Remote Health Professional of the Year and brings her passion for strengthening paediatric primary care, including collaborative care, in rural Australia to AADPA. As chair of the Djing.gii Gudjaagalali Working Group, Corin established a novel model of school-based integrated care on the Far South Coast of NSW. Developed in direct response to community needs, Corin got the local stakeholders on board and co-designed a model of care to operate within the school environment to increase access for the community. In doing so, Corin’s innovative clinic won a personal endorsement from the NSW Health Minister.